Speedealer originally formed in 1994 in Lubbock, TX, under the name REO Speedealer. When REO Speedwagon served the band a cease-and-desist order on their moniker, they shortened their name to Speedealer.

In 1998, the band released their debut, self-titled album on Royalty Records. The following year, the hard rocking foursome made up of singer/guitarist Jeff Hirshberg, bassist Rodney Skelton, drummer Harden Harrison, and guitarist Eric Schmidt released their follow-up record, Here Comes Death, on the same label. Royalty Records went bankrupt soon after the band's second release, leaving Speedealer to their own devices for exposure. Label-less and musically driven, they played 309 shows in 1999 to stay in the public eye, pairing up with such like-minded, aggressive rockers as Zeke, Fu Manchu, Neurosis, and GWAR.

Speedealer's efforts finally paid off when Palm Records A&R man Michael Alago (who signed Metallica to Elektra and White Zombie to Geffen) contracted the band to his label. Palm Records re-released Here Comes Death in 2000, and Second Sight in 2002.

Following their European tour in summer 2014, Speedealer ceased existing as a working, full-time band though between 2008 - 2012 members would from time to time play one-off shows, that is until Hirshberg decided in the autumn of 12" that he no longer wished to play live. However, in 2016 Schmidt and Harrison partnered with vocalist Daniel Barron (Swingin' Dicks) and bassist Rick Pearson (The Buck Pets), reestablishing the band. And on November 06, 2018, Speedealer, along with Hirshberg, entered into Sonic Dropper studio with Daniel Rey and Jim King at the helm to record its sixth album studio, Blue Days Black Nights (self released May 6, 2019).