Bob Wayne is as true of a DIY act as there is, kicking off his career without an agent, manager, record label, proper touring vehicle or fulltime backing band. He picked up and moved from the Pacific Northwest to Nashville and was instantly embraced by the community of underbelly outlaws whose stripped down and straightforward country cuts through the mainstream noise and pop pretenders. “You can’t rely on waiting around,” he insists. “You just go. That’s what I do. I’m just going to keep doing it.”

Bob Wayne songs often deal with the spiritual torment of living life pulled between good and evil; or they are about cutting loose and partying with your best friends; and then there are what he calls “the story songs.”

The compositions on Bob’s latest album are wrung from his heart, spirit and guitar with an authenticity that’s lacking in many of today’s various subgenres and scenes. It’s an out front, direct and in-your-face approach that has struck a chord with people whose music collections span the divides between country, roots, bluegrass, rockabilly, punk rock, hardcore, indie artfulness and the rawest of stoner rock and underground metal. It’s country, to be sure, but of the strongest grain and purest intent.

Bob laid down the roadmap for his career with the first song he ever wrote as a proper solo artist, “Devil’s Son,” which sees it’s most solid recording on his latest album, bringing him full circle. “I had been listening to a lot of David Allen Coe, Johnny Cash and Willie Nelson,” he says. The song tells a story about a guy who journeys to Nashville and wrestles with a few demons.

Wayne himself entered Nashville for the first time riding on the bus with Hank III, just as the sun was coming up one morning. “My first time rolling into this city was with the people I needed to be with,” he says.

It was almost eerie how “Devil’s Son” had predicted the subsequent years. “I’m a little leery when I’m writing songs now,” he laughs. “’Spread My Ashes on the Highway?’ I should write about being a millionaire!”

Discography :

- 2006 : 13 Truckin' Songs
- 2006 : Blood to Dust
- 2009 : Driven by Demons
- 2011 : Outlaw Carnie
- 2012 : Till the Wheel Fall Off
- 2014 : Back to the Camper
- 2016 : Hits the Hits
- 2018 : Bad Hombre